Saturdays at Camp NaNoWriMo Rock

SnoopyWS_campingIt’s April 15th and for most people–including myself–that usually means you’d better have your taxes done or an extension filed. (Thank goodness for tax deadline hitting on the weekend because between you and me, I haven’t located all my documents yet and I need the extra couple of days.) This year though, it more importantly means we’ve hit the halfway point of Camp NaNoWriMo.

In between the usual camp activities this past week, I did find time to write during my lunch break and clocked in at least a day’s worth of word count. With the holiday, we had a free day yesterday for Good Friday, and Mom came to visit me at camp and I took her with me to my extra day of ceramics. If you’re in need of a writing break, you can check out the pics I’ve posted of the finished pieces Mom and I have done during the last three years over on Flickr. You have to promise you’ll get right back to work afterward though; I don’t want to be responsible for you missing your word counts! =]

This past Thursday I hit another milestone–I finished Heroic Journey Step 9 and also the third to last page of my outline. It felt pretty good to hit that minor step, considering I’ve been working on this thing for quite a while now. Every day I’m that much closer to the Big Event that is my book’s climax, and it’s exciting to see if it will go as planned (a.k.a. follow my aforementioned outline) or if something will take the story off on a tangent. I’m hoping my characters will stick to the script, because frankly I need them to tell me if I think how this thing is going to end is how it’s really going to turn out. I have quite a list of possible choices I can choose from, and I have one that’s pulling ahead of the rest of the pack. Still, I think it’s going to take Reese and Rowena to tell me how they want their story to end. Fortunately, I’m 10,000 words closer, all because of Camp.

I guess we’ll all just have to wait and see, huh?

Camp Stats

Days written: 9
Daily word count/goal: 1,542/500
Word count to date/target: 10,667/15,000

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!