A Successful Day at Camp NaNoWriMo

Hello, Campers! It’s almost the weekend, and I can tell you it’s been a busy week! As I mentioned in my last post, I did pretty well on Tuesday at my writing session with M. Last night I did attempt to write, but I was in my comfy place and the distractions around me proved too hard to resist. So after a measly 148 words, I called it a night and spent the evening streaming Netflix after discovering the wonders of wifi that reaches to all corners of your cabin instead of stopping at the doorway to your bedroom.

Now today was much more satisfying on the writing front. As I didn’t have plans to meet up with friends at lunch, I took the opportunity to write and came in with a respectable 605 words, which is one day’s worth and a little bit. I also decided to avoid the hassle of the traffic crawling by outside my workroom window and stayed at my desk to see if I couldn’t build on my earlier progress. With the help of my novel’s playlist soothing me through my earbuds, I ended with a nice daily total of 2,000+ words. Woo hoo!

For a moment there I thought my word count was a bit higher, but apparently there’s a discrepancy between OneDrive’s Word app word count and Scrivener’s. (Interestingly, the Word app on my laptop matched Scrivener to a word.) I guess I’ll go back to just using my laptop full time rather than fooling around copying things back and forth. Alas, since the latter is the application of record, I took the hit and the lower count. Still, I managed four day’s worth of words in one sitting, and if I keep this up, I”ll surpass my target in no time. =]

I’ve got another work session with M on Saturday, but I also have the chance to write tomorrow as well so stay tuned!

( P.S. M and I have officially booked a cottage for our very own summer writer retreat. I created that nifty milestone countdown you see beneath the Camp one to keep me motivated and to keep you in the know. More to come, I promise! )

Camp Stats

Days written: 4
Daily word count/goal: 2,095/500
Word count to date/target: 4,760/15,000

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!