Hello from Camp NaNoWriMo Day 1

Well, it’s day one of camp and I’m already ahead of the game. I met my BFF for the first of our work sessions today, and after a little catching up to see where I’d left off, I managed to crank out a respectable word count. So I’m calling it a day and heading out to the bonfire to make some ‘Smores with my friends before turning in for the night.

I don’t know if I mentioned what goal I’d set for myself during April. I plan to write 15,000 words (that’s 500/day in case you were wondering), which should be pretty easy to accomplish especially if I’m true to form. (I’m a rather prolific writer once I get going, as this novel’s enormous word count can attest.) Granted, you might think 15k is a rather wimpy word count to work toward, but that’s the whole point. I’m attending Camp this time around not to crank out all kinds of crap, but rather to get me back in the habit of writing again. I also get to color in a book on my bullet journal page’s bookshelf for each 1,000 words I write, and I really want that thing filled up with colorful book spines.

Thankfully I have two really good friends who will be there for me and cheer me on. Heck, I think my BFF is even scouring her house for her pom-poms later tonight so she can keep me motivated. =] I can’t promise I won’t be embarrassed should she whip them out of her backpack and start waving them around, but I can promise to keep going on this novel until it’s FINALLY finished. I even started brainstorming endings last week just in case I got that far.

I have no idea which ending I’ll choose, but at least they’re there written down in black and white should I need them.

Stay tuned for more tales from our cabin at Camp NaNoWriMo. I’ll see you soon!

 

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!