NaNoWriMo 2016 Day 7

dontthinkjustwriteHello from the trenches on this first Monday of NaNoWriMo. I have to tell you, it has felt like nothing but a Monday all day. Here in Austin, it’s been drizzly and overcast, which is dreary and blah and makes you long for even just one ray of sunshine bursting through the clouds. On top of that, it’s also the first work day after having set our clocks back for Daylight Savings Time. I’ve been really tired and low energy most of the day, and boy am I thankful that I was able to ramp up the word count over the weekend. That edge means that on a slow day like today when I hit only 1,170 words, I don’t have to panic or feel bad or get all grumpy if I don’t hit the daily recommended word count.

I’m also a little bit off from having the choral music from yesterday continuously running through my head in rotation so my concentration isn’t up to its usual snuff. Top all of that off by wanting to get back to work on  my writing journal and get everything transferred over, I think you could say today that the distractions won the day.

But you know, that’s the best part about NaNo. The support you get, especially from the friends who are also doing this crazy competition with you, is great. They chat with you via IM to keep you inspired and to keep you motivated (I am going to match Meagan’s word count one of these days if it kills me) and also to suggest that perhaps where you were thinking the scene should go might not be where the characters want it to go an maybe that’s why your writing has temporarily stalled out.

I fell victim to thinking too much today, trying to craft the perfect scene, instead of just getting it down on paper and worry about the perfect rhythm and wording later.

Like in December. Of 2017.

Thus the photo in today’s post. I think for the next couple of days, it’s going to be my new mantra. Don’t think, just write, and crank it out. Here’s hoping I can follow my own advice!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!