NaNoWriMo 2016 Day 3 Update

Hello from the trenches, my fellow wrimos! It’s November 4, my third day of writing this go-around, and I am so pleased with what I’ve accomplished so far. Not only have I had multiple writing sessions each day, but I’ve clocked in word counts over 3k on two of them to put me a day and a half ahead of the suggested goal.

Pardon me a moment while I do a happy dance in my chair (or diner booth as the case may be).

On top of that, I’ve had the chance to write with two great gals during our casual and unofficial write-ins this week. With Kel, I’ve turned my lunch hour into a productive spurt of writing, and with Meagan, our diner dinner turned into another successful session. Okay, yes, both of them have counts higher than mine, but you know what? I’m okay with that. It doesn’t matter what their counts are, or what project their working on. What does count is that I’m well on my way to winning another NaNo with the added bonus of getting that much closer to actually writing those two magical words on that last page: The End.

This year, as I mentioned in previous posts, I’m utilizing my bullet journal to track my word count and other things NaNo. I have to tell you all, I’m getting immense satisfaction in coloring in all those little books on the shelves each night after I’ve finished the day’s writing. It’s so much fun making turning those colorful books blue, and because of my success this week, I’m only four books away from having two completely blue shelves. Here, let me show you. I took a snap of the first bookshelf page in my bullet journal, and it turned out pretty well, if I don’t say so myself (click on the image to see it full size):

coloredbookshelves

Neat, huh? I’m definitely liking the creative aspect of drawing the books and shelves (which I didn’t think I could do very well, and wasn’t I pleasantly surprised at how they turned out), and seeing my success progress as I color has a bit of meditation in it as well.

So I bid you adieu this Friday evening with a happy smile, and hope that your writing has been as successful, pleasurable and prolific as mine. :)

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!