Another successful NaNo Day

writeblockEvening, y’all! Day Two of NaNoWriMo 2015 went quite nicely. I had two writing sessions today, and that helped keep me to a sensible timeframe as for the first time, my friend Kelly and I joined together and wrote over our lunch hour. It was energetic and entertaining, and both of us got some good work done. Me, I hit the halfway point of my word count in an hour, checking in with 1,040 on the official site.

One of the “issues,” if you can call it that, is that when I write over a specified time deadline, I often end up having to stop in the middle of a thought or scene or some such. That was one thing that didn’t happen today. I got the new scene started, established the new setting and even managed to introduce another secondary character. When the hour was up, I was at the perfect place in the story to pause until I could pick it up again after work.

All in all, a good day!

Today’s Word Count: 2,091

Word Count to Date: 5,071

Writing Time Today: 3 hours and a little bit

Current Feeling: Relaxed and happy the day went well

Motivation/Inspiration: Starting the new lunch sessions with Kelly

Biggest Triumph: Once again moving past the 1,667 goal for the day to clock in over 2,000 words

Biggest Setback: Well, it was totally not writing related, actually. Silly me had forgotten to turn off the burner I’d used to cook the risotto, and instead had set on that same burner the dish the meatloaf had been cooking in, so by the time I was going back for seconds, boy was that pot a mess! Fortunately, the food was fine and is all packed up for lunch tomorrow.

Insights: I pay much more attention to my writing when I have music or a movie playing in the background. It acts much like white noise, and isn’t distracting at all. Tonight’s choice: Pitch Perfect, and for tomorrow, the pitches will be back for the sequel. *grin*

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!