NaNoWriMo 2015 Has Begun

creativejuicesGood evening, everyone! It’s November once again, and with the cooler temps also comes National Novel Writing Month. On top of that, standard time returns, which gives us fledgling novelists an extra hour in which to crank out the words to meet our daily totals. I might have taken advantage of that very idea had I had the awareness when my beloved cat woke me up crying in my ear at 5:30 this morning (or 6:30 cat time) for a drink of water.

Alas, the only thing I could think was, “Egad, cat, hush up and let Momma sleep!”

Fortunately, as the day wore on, my brain began to function normally. That meant I had high hopes for the planned writing session with my BFF Meagan. Before then, Mom and I did the church thing, the lunch with chopsticks thing, followed up by a stroll through William Sonoma and Trader Joe’s. By the time I got home, I still had time to upgrade iTunes (although I haven’t tested the new install yet) because I’ve got a couple of new CDs that I want to add to my collection so I can also add them to my novel’s playlist.

Not that it needs more music, as it’s currently sitting at 286 tracks. What can I say? My characters have great taste in music; he’s into the 70s rock and roll and she loves her modern country. Hmm. When I first chose those genres for my characters, it totally didn’t register how very Donnie and Marie it was. Oh well.

Unintentional musical clichés aside, it came time to meet Meagan for dinner and our first writing session of the contest. We made quick work of our meals, and then out came the laptops. It took me a little while to get going, but by the end of the session I had 1,147 words written and the prologue done. We parted ways and I headed home to where the A/C wasn’t on full blast as it had been in the restaurant and my furry companion who even as I type is curled up alongside my laptop keeping me company. I even had my first funny typo that I had to share; check my Twitter/Facebook post from earlier if you missed it.

As it stands, I’m almost a full day ahead of the game, having written another full scene and an additional 1,833 words. A promising start on a brand new story I am striving to actually finish by the end of the competition.

Now it’s time for my first NaNo update. I’m going to use the same format I co-opted from my newly published writer friend Kate M. Colby last year. Why fix what ain’t broken, right? :)

Today’s Word Count: 2,980

Word Count to Date: 2,980

Writing Time Today: 4 hours, give or take

Current Feeling: Pleased but so ready for bed

Motivation/Inspiration: Starting the story itself and watching it come to life on the page… once I finally figured out how to start!

Biggest Triumph: Adding a second session and keeping going once I hit today’s required word count.

Biggest Setback: The slightly uncomfortable environment at my neighborhood restaurant. That corner in the back that allowed me to plug in my laptop was pretty freakin’ cold, enough so that it was a little hard to concentrate.

Insights: It’s kind of hard for me to just put words onto a page without also doing minor edits as I go. Everyone tells me to just spit it out, but I always re-write as I go, even with this blog post. Granted, what I write may not be Pulitzer material, but I have to at least like it.

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!