Seeing the light at the end of the tunnel

WriterSnoopy
My writing mascot, Snoopy. I have a little version of him sitting with me while I write for unconditional support.

Today was another writing day where I got a mid-afternoon start and went straight on through, trying to finish a scene. Sure, there were times when I felt as though I were merely blathering on despite having a point I wanted to make. I’m also dealing with a plot that has some parts accelerating beyond my control and others that seem to be taking forever to end up on the page. It’s also been a challenge trying to write from a male point of view, as the story is his and not my heroine’s.

The most important thing now is to get the words on the page, keep the story moving and get to that all important finish line. Once that’s done, then I can worry about things like continuity and editing and pace. I think I have my plan ready to go for how to keep writing from December on, so I might yet make it.

Today’s Word Count: 3,601

Word Count to Date: 47,865

Writing Time Today: 6 hours, give or take

Current Feeling: Excitement tinged with a tad of tiredness

Motivation/Inspiration: Knowing I’m in the home stretch, and that today’s efforts means I should hit that glorious 50,000 total with no trouble.

Biggest Triumph: Getting the scene finished, after it seemed to go in fits and starts and I’m still not sure if it works, but it’s done for now.

Biggest Setback: While not technically a setback, chatting with Kate Colby via DM on Twitter was a bit of a distraction. She’s been my second strongest supporter during this year’s NaNo, and so I pay attention when she replies or comments on my tweets or posts. Thanks for the support, Kate, and I look forward to seeing how our endeavours play out over the next few months!

Insights: I need to work on my focus a bit. I think today’s writing could have been a little cleaner had I had a better picture of where I wanted to go with the scene, instead of merely putting words on a page. I know had I done that, I might have clocked in a higher word count, or at least made a little more sense.

Until tomorrow, my Wrimos. Keep an eye out for that winner’s banner; I fully intend to have mine before the day is over. *grin!*

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!