Mega NaNoWriMo Day and HItting 100

creativejuices
This is what’s been flowing through my house the last couple of days, and I hope it sticks around…

It’s been another long day of writing, and I am here to tell you that I can’t make a habit of this. Yes, I’m loving that I am capable of cranking out the word count when necessary, but I don’t think my back can take many more consecutive days of this. Fortunately, tomorrow should be an easy day as I persevered today and racked up even more words than Sunday.

To top it all off, WordPress officially let me know that I now have over 100 followers, and I couldn’t have hit that milestone without this thing called NaNoWriMo. So thanks to all my fellow Wrimos and all my followers – I’m thrilled you’re interested in what goes on in my little corner of the ‘Verse! As a treat, I’m going to include an excerpt for you from the last scene I wrote today instead of the usual insights. I hope you like it!

Today’s Word Count: 5,867 – that’s over 11,000 words in TWO DAYS (falls over in a heap of exhaustion)

Word Count to Date: 38,765 – 11,235 to go.

Writing Time Today: all day, in two sessions

Current Feeling: Pooped.

Motivation/Inspiration: Seeing how much I could get done today so that whatever I did tomorrow would be gravy (and no, that wasn’t intended to be a holiday pun; that was a happy accident).

Biggest Triumph: Writing three complete scenes in one day, after taking the morning off for my almost-forgotten dentist appointment, a trip to the grocery store to pick up the things I needed for my contribution to Thanksgiving dinner, and cleaning out the fridge, the pantry and almost everything else in the kitchen.

Biggest Setback: Forgetting something at the grocery store that I will need before the week is out. This is why I like my lists, no forgetsies.

Excerpt:

Reese looked out at the men and women before him, and was reminded of himself at that age, kneeling before a knight not much different from himself. He’d recited these same words to that knight as he’d joined the ranks of the second circle of the most famous chivalric order in history that to this day the world believed to be fictitious while he knew himself to be its last surviving member. Making eye contact with every young soul before him, he began.

“As a Knight of the Round Table, be ye one of the twelve of the first order–Arthur, Bedivere, Bors the Younger, Galahad, Gareth, Gawain, Kay, Lancelot, Lucan, Percival, Tristan and Yvain–or be ye one of the twelve of each of the eleven lower orders, you now represent the highest order of chivalry in Camelot. This oath you shall swear as your Code of honor and service to your King:

“Never shall I do outrage or murder;

“Always shall I flee treason;

“Never shall I by any means be cruel, but rather give mercy unto him who asks for my mercy, even in the midst of combat;

“Always shall I do ladies, gentlewomen and widows succor;

“Never shall I force ladies, gentlewomen or widows; and

“Never shall I take up battles in wrongful quarrels for love or worldly goods; rather always shall I battle for nothing less than God or country.”

As he finished, his words echoed through the silent studio, and he felt them resonate through his entire being. It had been fourteen hundred and eighty four years since he himself had sworn that oath, and fourteen hundred and seventy seven since he’d broken one of them in the midst of the chaos of war. In his mind’s eye, he could still see how Tegan had looked as she’d lain there before him, broken and lifeless, her blood dripping from his sword to the muddy battlefield beneath his feet. Her fatal wounds had not been inflicted with malice, but rather through recklessness and inattention, not that the reasons mattered any more now than they did then. She was still dead, he was still cursed, and Morgan le Fay was still and would always be a vindictive bitch…

Until tomorrow, my fellow Wrimos. If you’re behind, don’t give up but keep on writing. You won’t know what you’re capable of if you don’t.

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

4 thoughts on “Mega NaNoWriMo Day and HItting 100”

  1. You are amazing! 11,000+ words in two days is incredible. No wonder you are so wiped out! After doing that, you can definitely get that last 11-12k done in the next 5 days. No sweat!

  2. Thanks! I need less than 3k today to get all caught up, and that’s good, considering I’ll be busy tonight and Wed & Thurs might be no writing days because of the holiday. Oh how I envy you finishing early! :)

  3. Honestly, I’m super happy I’ve finished early, but it still kind of sucks. It’s like, okay, I did all this work and other people around me are DONE done, and I’ve STILL got more work to do. But, we keep pushing on. It’s never really done is it? Lol

  4. No, it isn’t and mine most definitely won’t be. Thus our post-NaNo plans are vital for continuing on and finishing our novels. I don’t have a clue how long mine will take, but I think this time I’m determined to keep going and get it DONE done. At least I hope so!

Comments are closed.