My Return to NaNoWriMo 2014

Me, upon realizing just how far I'd fallen behind
Me, upon realizing just how far I’d fallen behind when I did the totals this morning

Hello everyone! I feel like I’ve been gone much longer than a week, and when I woke up Monday feeling just so-so, I had no idea I would get completely wiped out and exhausted. Let me just go on record and state that I absolutely detest having allergies, especially in November when combined with a touch of a cold. I know it wasn’t the flu, because I got a flu shot this year for the first time in three years, so it couldn’t be that. Naaaah.

Usually this junk doesn’t hit me until after the first of the new year, so I blame that lovely arctic blast as the cause. It’s not so bad until you get to the point where you’re coughing every second and you can just forget about anything but laying on the couch with your cat on your lap because you don’t have enough energy to do anything else. Today it’s 79 degrees outside, when it was just last week we had highs in the 40s. Crazy Texas weather!

I was determined to write today no matter what, though, and although I have sore ribs from all this wretched coughing, I pushed through it and got halfway caught up (I started the day at 10,822 words behind, including today’s target).

Today’s Word Count: 5,329 (wow)

Word Count to Date: 32,898

Writing Time Today: all day, in two sessions

Current Feeling: Impressed.

Motivation/Inspiration: Making up as much of my word count deficit as possible.

Biggest Triumph: Cranking out just under half of the word count needed to get me caught up. I don’t believe I’ve ever written that much before in a single day, so yeah, that goes in the Triumph column. I have another all-writing day planned for tomorrow, and Tuesday morning as well, before the holiday events begin.

Biggest Setback: Having to pause to do research for information on things I needed in the scenes I was writing. Even with a planned plot, sometimes the devil’s in the details.

Insights: I approached today as if it were how I might spend the day were writing to become my profession of choice. Get up, write, lunch, write, end of day. I can definitely tell you it’s doable, but my back would insist on a better setup than a tray table and a big cushion on the couch.

That’s it for me. Time to go feed me and my cat and relax a little. Jusqu’à demain, mes amis écrivains!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

4 thoughts on “My Return to NaNoWriMo 2014”

  1. You rock! Over 5,000 words in a day is a huge feat, and I am crazy impressed by your dedication in getting caught up. I have absolutely no doubt that you will get caught up AND win before November ends. Keep going!

  2. Thanks, Kate. I hope I can repeat today’s feat tomorrow after my early morning dentist appt. I get another chance for a push Friday-Sunday, as there’s no school on Saturday. Hope springs eternal!

  3. Holy Cow!!! Well Done. I am finally getting back to internet after being out of range for a few days. So hopefully I can tackle that as well.
    Well Done

  4. Thanks! I got a later start today due to a dentist’s appointment and kitchen chores, but I have the rest of the evening, and so far I’ve got 1824 in the bank. :) Good luck to you as well!

Comments are closed.