NaNoWriMo Day 14: Keen

The Day of Writing Furiously
The Day of Writing Furiously

Happy weekend, Wrimos! Now’s our chance to either catch up or to surge ahead. I had two writing sessions tonight in my effort to get my word count back where it should be, a longer one before and quick one after the administration of fluids to my elderly kitty. Ah the joys of a fur baby!

Today’s Word Count: 2,100

Word Count to Date: 22,321

Writing Time Today: 2.5 hours or so

Current Feeling: Accomplished

Motivation: Catching up to that pesky number in the square marked “14” on my NaNoWriMo word count calendar. It’s been taunting me all day at work and into tonight from its place as my desktop wallpaper.

Inspiration: Discovering I’d written myself into a great spot to introduce another of my secondary characters. She’s going to factor into things later on, and so far, I’m not sure who’s side she’s on, her own or my characters’.

Biggest Triumph: Keeping going although I really wanted to watch the movie that came in the mail from Netflix.

Biggest Setback: Getting a late-ish start on writing because I took advantage of the sale at Old Navy. Seriously though, is that a setback or another triumph? Ha.

Insights: As I typed this post, I belatedly realized I absently named two of my supporting characters after two fellow Wrimos, one new and one not-so-new (I met him last year): Kate (although in my story she spells her full name with a “C”), and T.J. Both are good with a sword, but T.J.’s the one who got wounded in his semi-finals match during the battle of the knights to see who would be named champion, and that led to the face-to-face meeting hero and heroine. See, we really do put people know into our novels! :)

Have a great weekend, all, wherever you are and whatever you’re doing, even if it’s not sitting at home with fingers flying across a keyboard.

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 14: Keen”

  1. I’m so flattered to have inspired a name in your novel, whether subconsciously or consciously! Plus, this makes me even more interested than before to read it! Sounds like your NaNoWriMo count is getting back on track, too. Keep up the great work!

Comments are closed.