NaNoWriMo Day 13: Sorta Mean

Christopher Lambert as Connor MacLeod in "Highlander"
Christopher Lambert as Connor MacLeod in “Highlander”

Well, it seems as though this year Tuesdays and Wednesdays are going to put a kink in my plans to hit that 50,000 word goal of NaNoWriMo. For the second week in a row, I’ve had two consecutive days without writing and I’m Catch Up Girl once more. Today I did manage to get to a bit over 20,000 and I’m happy about that.

Today’s Word Count: 2,148

Word Count to Date: 20,221

Writing Time Today: 2.5 hours

Current Feeling: Satisfied I didn’t give up and go home.

Motivation: Listening to Queen’s album “A Kind of Magic,” which is the unofficial soundtrack to my favorite movie about a different kind of immortal, “Highlander.”

Inspiration: Getting done so I can go home where it’s warm and hug my cat!

Biggest Triumph: Keeping at it so I could get another day’s word count under my belt (so to speak).

Biggest Setback: Now that the weather’s shifted and that arctic blast blew through Texas, it’s flipping FREEZING in my office at work, and it’s not the comfortable space it was just a week ago. Had to dig out the fingerless mittens so my hands would work.

Insights: Being behind in my word count doesn’t stress me out as much as it used to. Of course I say that now. We’ll see how I feel about it the closer it gets to the end of the month…

Until tomorrow, my fellow Wrimos!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 13: Sorta Mean”

  1. Surpassing 2k today is a great start to chipping away at that deficit! You’re only about 1,400 words behind, so you could easily make that up with 3-4 more days of 2k words. Regardless, though, you’re doing great!

    Unrelated– my family and I are big fans of Highlander. When I was a little kid, my dad tried to convince me that he was immortal and Highlander was loosely based on his life. I don’t think I ever believed him, but I liked to pretend with him that he was that cool lol.

  2. Thanks, Kate. I am hoping to hit 2k+ this weekend as well.

    I happen to own every Highlander movie, all seasons of Highlander and Highlander:Raven. Yup, I’m a fan, too! :)

Comments are closed.