NaNoWriMo Day 10: Ahead Again

"Don't get it right, get it written."
“Don’t get it right, get it written.”

Hi everyone! As you’ve probably suspected by now, I took the rest of the day off from writing on Sunday after hitting my goal early in the day. This proved fortuitous, as not only did I spend the rest of the day doing every bit of laundry that had been needing to be done for longer than I like to consider, but I also did a bit of cleaning I’d been putting off. So yesterday was successful in more ways than one, and that’s pretty awesome.

Today’s Word Count: 2,172 (and I only needed 769 to be caught up)

Word Count to Date: 18,073 (only 264 words away from Tuesday’s target)

Writing Time Today: 3 hours

Current Feeling: Pleased with my progress, and ready for bed!

Motivation: Seeing Nora Roberts’ newest book on the stands while shopping today, and declaring it to be my reward when I win NaNoWriMo 2014, and not before.

Inspiration: My new “NaNoWriMo Wizard” wrist band (aka a starry “Halo for my wrist”) that I got as part of my NaNo Swag from my donation that will keep me motivated long after November 30.

Biggest Triumph: Keeping going until today’s scene was done and not stopping a) when I reached the 769 words to be caught up or b) when I hit the recommended daily word count of 1,667. The first few minutes were a struggle as well as I initially couldn’t find a good way to start today’s scene. Once I figured it out, my fingers flew across the keyboard.

Biggest Setback: Same one as yesterday–my 16-year-old tuxedo cat who kept hopping up on the couch next to me and tempting me with her absolute cuteness that is physically impossible to ignore. Petting and kitty-talk and snuggles ensued.

Insights: I’m still ruminating on ideas for how to set up a schedule or plan or what have you after NaNo. I have a feeling some sort of bargain with myself might be in order, such as “if you reach 31,ooo by December 31, you may buy ‘The Walking Dead’ Season 1 Blu-ray as a reward” and continuing on each month thereafter with a movie or book that is a must-have item.

Hope all you fellow Wrimos out there met your goals for today, and I’ll see you tomorrow. Slainté!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 10: Ahead Again”

  1. Woot! I hope you were able to get caught up on Tuesday! I think it’s great that you’ve come up with a tangible reward for yourself for after NaNoWriMo. Hopefully that will help you push through and go from just barely behind to a little bit ahead. I know you can do it!

  2. I’d love to say yes to staying caught up on Tuesday, but alas writing did not happen last night. With choir tonight, I might be a tad behind again. But there is a bright side – I was in the same place last week and I not only caught up but surged ahead. Cross your fingers!

Comments are closed.