NaNoWriMo Day 8: Lightweight

snoopyandthetardisWell, today was a bit of good and bad. Good, because I was able to write and it went pretty smoothly, but bad because my work setup is experiencing technical difficulties and thus won’t be usable for Sunday’s writing. That means that I’ll either be at home with its inherent distractions, or by myself at a library or other location. I’m not sure which way it’ll be just yet, but I’m leaning toward home. That means I can stay in my jammies to write, and I can write as long as I want without accounting for travel time. I’ll also have feline companionship, and let’s face it, that’s a pretty good perk.

Today’s Word Count: 2,313

Word Count to Date: 14,195

Writing Time Today: 3.5 hours

Current Feeling: Combination satistied and worried. Satisfied, because I’m keeping up with the word count, but worried because of the computer problems that threw a wrench into my plans.

Motivation: Seeing where the characters take me.

Inspiration: As usual, my playlist and the story itself.

Biggest Triumph: Exceeding the minimum word count another day.

Biggest Setback: See above computer issue, as those things always throw me for a loop and now I’ve got to change strategies.

Insights: I don’t seem to be able to just get right to the point of my stories. I can sketching out a plot fine, but when I write, other stuff ends up on the page than what I anticipated. Today for example, my main characters were supposed to meet. Alas, that didn’t happen and won’t until tomorrow (I hope). I don’t know if this is because the earlier scenes changed the speed, or if I’m too stuck in other stuff (setting up things, peripheral action, something else) to move things along.

That’s it for this Saturday, November 8. I’m headed home to my cat, a movie and some sleep.

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!