NaNoWriMo Day 4: Galore

Angelina Jolie as Maleficent (©Disney 2014)
Angelina Jolie as Maleficent (©Disney 2014)

Hello from the trenches! It’s been a good night in NaNoLand at my house. I introduced my main characters – and future lovers – to each other by way of a pass-by on horseback while he was looking quite splendid in his knightly finery. I followed through on the great idea I had earlier today when I was…occupado on how to bring in my heroine’s ex-husband earlier in the story and establish him as one of the antagonists. Not to mention the whole session went much better because all I had playing in the background was my COC playlist.

I also had excellent motivation to write tonight because waiting for me when I got done was my brand-new Blu-ray of “Maleficent” that just came out today. Yes, I know I’ve seen it three times already, but it’s that good.

Today’s Word Count: 2,571

Total Word Count: 9,499 (and yes I almost went for the full 10,000)

How Long I Wrote Today: 3.5 hours or so.

Feeling: Thrilled, but that’s tempered by a slightly sore back from sitting crooked on the couch while writing.

Motivation: See previous statement about cracking open and watching my new Blu-ray of “Maleficent.”

Inspiration: Adding a new soundtrack to my playlist, and staying ahead of the word count, knowing I might not get to write tomorrow.

Biggest Triumph: Keeping on writing when I could have stopped so that I finished up Scene 5 and can start fresh on my next session.

Biggest Setback: Not sure if stopping around 8:30 to give Molly her subq fluids is really a setback, but it’s the only thing that halted my writing tonight. Although I did struggle with what the ex-husband does for a living that has him driving a Lexus and my heroine paying him alimony…

Insights: Bottle Caps and Airheads are perfect companion candies while writing. *chuckles*

Thus I shut the door on November 4th. Tomorrow choir starts up again so you might not hear from me if I’m too pooped to write when I get home at 9:30. In the meantime, keep on writing, my Wrimos!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 4: Galore”

  1. Hmm…that predicament about the ex-husband’s job is tough. Of course, if he drives a crappy Lexus (or bought the Lexus with his alimony money), that might help make things sensible. But I’m sure you’ve figured it out already!

    Keep up the great work! At least you’re a little ahead so if you can’t write tomorrow, no big deal!

  2. I haven’t figured it out quite yet, but I’m letting it be until it’s important. I haven’t been this far ahead in wird count EVER so I’m happy about that. Kudos to you too for keeping it going when you’re not feeling it. That’s not easy!

Comments are closed.