NaNoWriMo Day 3: Iffy

changeresistantHello writers everywhere! Today’s post is going to be shorter than yesterday’s, and in the stolen (with her permission) format of one of my new friends and fellow newbie Wrimos. (Hi, Kate!)

After a quick dinner, I tossed in a movie, booted up the laptop, reviewed my plot notes and began typing. Fortunately, because I was ahead of the game yesterday, I wasn’t too worried if I wasn’t as productive as my awesome day two. So here’s how it went:

Today’s Word Count: 1,856

Total Word Count: 6,928

Writing Time: Too long for the number of words put to page.

Feeling: Relaxed, toasty warm and satisfied.

Motivation: Staying ahead in the word count, and my donation to NaNoWriMo earlier in the day that earned me my halo. See:

Inspiration: Watching movies with knights and heroes in them (Ladyhawke and Crossworlds, both starring the totally awesome Rutger Hauer).

Biggest Triumph: Sticking with it and adding another day’s worth of words into the tally instead of giving in.

Biggest Setback: Losing my momentum when distractions such as a nosy kitty walking across my lap or having to rework my “lapdesk” setup because it was not comfortable and therefore not conducive to writing.

Helpful Insights: I really should only listen to music when writing. It’s just too easy for me to get distracted by a movie or TV show, even if I’ve seen it a hundred times before. Case in point: knowing by the music alone when my two favorite scenes from Ladyhawke were on, and pausing to watch them (and yes, tear up) before trying to get back to work.

So that’s it for November 3rd. Tomorrow is another chance to keep racking up those words before I have a long day/night on Wednesday, so I’ll see you tomorrow!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

1 thought on “NaNoWriMo Day 3: Iffy”

  1. Hello! I’m glad the form could help you out with your post. I’m all for organized cheats like that to help things go quicker. I’m just amazed that you can get anything done at all with a movie/tv on. I’m one of those writers that has to write in silence or with very specific music, so I envy you that! Keep hitting that word count! You’re doing great!

Comments are closed.