Time for Final NaNo Prep

As my fellow Wrimos are aware, tomorrow begins NaNoWriMo. Eek! I’m not quite as well prepared for the arrival of November 1st as I have been in the past. I’m trying to be okay with that, mega planner than I am. Parts of my plot still need to be worked out, even though technically I do have something jotted down from my original thoughts on the story a few weeks ago. The fact that both M and my mom decided on Sunday and Wednesday respectively that I need to know the spell Morgan used to curse Rhys with his immortality isn’t bothering me at all, either. Not a bit.

*moment of slightly hysterical laughter, followed by blank stares at the monitor*

So, I’ve spent random moments since Monday trying to compose a curse. In the car, on the couch, in between this and that at work. As luck would have it, the one good idea I had I don’t remember because my iPhone with its handy recording app was in the trunk.

Planner, indeed.

Finally it all came together and I admit, I really like it. It’s got all the elements it needs, especially the 7-9 pair pattern and the rhyming. Oh, the rhyming!  I now know how Shakespeare must have felt, composing the spells for the witches in “Macbeth.” I was inspired a teeny bit by one of his verses, and I give him full credit for that. Although, I bet he didn’t sit there tapping fingers against his desk counting syllables.

Morgause, the model for my Morgan, casting a spell of her own on TV's "Merlin."
Morgause, the model for my Morgan, casting a spell of her own on TV’s “Merlin.”

I know you won’t let me off without sharing the curse, so picture this: Morgan le Fay, wounded and pissed off and feeling very vengeful, ringed by nine fat white candles with steady flames as she crouches before her grimoire under a clear night sky. She holds a bloodied dagger in one hand (the blood’s from the who called out to the universe for this curse and sliced her hand open with it before Morgan stole it for the spell) and tosses the spell’s ingredients into the flame of the candle before her. Her voice is properly ragged (she’s casting this thing with her dying breaths) and suitably witchy as she chants:

Beneath a moon full and red,
With fiery comet overhead,
By thy wish I speak this spell,
To curse he whose sword a maid did fell.
In that fateful battle fight,
against Table code did act a Knight.
Her death he caused unaware;
Sir Rhys a greater price must now bear.

Death too swift a curse to cast,
his suffering must be made to last!
Unto him this curse shall fall;
with Rhianwen’s blooded blade I call
upon the earth, moon and sky
to bind this spell and my will apply.
Life to death and back the key;
from this day hence, immortality.

Each death gains him pain anew,
each Rebirth memories of his due.
Others deaths he’ll watch through time
while his unending years but climb.
From this curse no respite he
will find, not until Time doth decree:
when moon, comet and blade are three,
join spell, love and death to set him free.

Thrice for thee and thrice for thine,
and thrice for she summates sacred nine.
Called and cast through woman’s will,
for woman’s honor ‘tis now fulfilled.

As she wished, and as I’ve weaved,
this spell ‘tis bound, thus I mote it be.

There you have it. Now, on to the counterspell. Aw, man…

Update! As of 8 PM Friday night, the counterspell is also complete. Yay me! You’ll find it here on its own page. Morgan’s curse is also its own page as well, and the synopsis of COC is also online. I got a lot done today, and for now, I’ll worry about the plot later in the month. Now to go home, watch a scary movie in honor of Halloween, and get some sleep. Tomorrow will be a busy day!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

2 thoughts on “Time for Final NaNo Prep”

  1. I love this spell! I’m incredibly impressed by your ability to rhyme without it sounding cheesy or contrite. I, for one, do not have this skill, but I love to watch others craft beautifully rhyming poems (or, in this case, curses). Well done!

    And don’t worry about being a little ill-prepared for NaNoWriMo. You’ve got this!

  2. Thanks, Kate! The counter spell is much shorter on purpose so it didn’t take as long to do. Best thing is, they’ll end up in the book eventually too. Bonus word count. :)

Comments are closed.