Flash Fiction: Cobalt Gargoyles of Dublin

This post is a bit overdue, but as they say better late than never. It’s based on TerribleMind’s flash fiction challenge from August 15th. I went a tad over the allotted word limit, so I didn’t post it as part of the challenge. I also hadn’t had a chance to edit it yet. After taking a few minutes to clean things up a little, I think it’s ready for posting.

Here’s the deets on what the challenge entailed:

“Colors are pretty. I want you to write a story using a title that incorporates a color into it. I don’t care which color. Only requirement is the incorporation of a color in the title.

CobaltGargoyle_Griffin
Leader of the Dublin Cobalt Gargoyles, Griffin

The blog’s author included a random color table for our convenience, and I chose #10, cobalt. It’s a color with a nice name, and also happens to be one of my favorite glazes in pottery class. I also chose to stick with the winged theme I seem to have going this summer, and I might also have been influenced by watching I, Frankenstein on video the weekend I wrote the story.

Here’s what happens when I settle gargoyles on top of Saint Patrick’s Cathedral in Dublin and melée ensues. You can find it later as its own page under the “About Nik’s Stories” menu above for future reading.

Read the story: The Cobalt Gargoyles of Dublin

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!