I’ve been Flash Fiction Challenged!

Earlier today I was on my lunch break, innocently checking my Facebook feeds to see if anyone had posted anything interesting, and there sat a couple IMs from M that read: “Nicoooooole…” followed by a link to a blog post, which itself had a follow up link to a random number generator, and ending with “Wanna play?”

This was me, and no, I’m not exaggerating for comedic online effect:

screamingwoman

Sometimes M comes up with really scary ideas. Before I met her I was happy just writing whenever. Now, she’s constantly poking and prodding me to write more than just on our meet-up day. I know there’s love and encouragement behind it, as well as being supportive and a good friend and I know it helps to keep her motivated as well.

I think being surrounded by boys all day is seriously affecting her idea of fun, or her domestic goddess-slash-diva tiara is on a little too tight and it’s started warping her brain a little.

Good thing I love her like a little sister.

No matter. I caved and agreed to the challenge. Here’s the rules from TerribleMinds.com (click here for the actual post and to see the full choice list):

“You will pick two from the list either using a d20 or random number generator (or hell, divine it from the guts of a pigeon, whatever), then you will write a short story that mashes up those two subgenres. This time, you’ll get 2000 words. Because I’m sweet like that. This is due by next Friday, noon EST. Post at your online space.”

Sounds pretty straight forward, right? Fortunately, when M issued me the challenge, she allowed for two re-rolls (but we won’t tell them that). My random numbers ended up as 10, 9, 13 and 2 (Military Sci-Fi, Cozy Mystery, Superhero and Dystopia, respectively). I totally wanted to do “Superhero” when I first saw the list, so that works for me. I’m also going with “Dystopia” because all I know about the genre is what I’ve seen in “Divergent” or “Hunger Games” on the big screen and I’ll get to do a little research.

Yeah, I like research. Go figure.

Oh, did I forget to mention that I’ve also recently been wishing I had the power of flight? Of course, seeing Disney’s “Maleficent” and those glorious wings Angelina was sporting had absolutely nothing to do with that…

Angelina Jolie as Maleficent (©Disney 2014)
Angelina Jolie as Maleficent (©Disney 2014)

So check back between now and next Friday, June 27th, at 11:00 am (which is noon EST here in Austin) to see what I come up with!

 

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!