NaNo 2013 ~ Day 24

Cranaleith, Lucia's castle
Cranaleith, Lucia’s castle

It’s Sunday night, and officially the end of the weekend. Tomorrow I get to sleep in, snuggle with my cat, and write as much or as little as I want whenever I want. Why? I’m on vacation, that’s why. *happy dance* Today I hit 40k, and that means I’m once again caught up and on schedule to make it to the ultimate goal on Saturday.

Meanwhile, my best friend M cranked out 4,000 words today during our writing session and catapulted herself into the NaNoWriMo winner’s circle. Yahoo!

Me, I got up to 2,400 and introduced characters that will be pivotal to the plot as the story progresses. First, there was Lucia — that’s her castle in the photo — and then there was her brother, Alaric. Both are dragons, both are over a thousand years old, but only one of them will turn out to be the villain of our story. Can you guess which one? While you’ll have to wait and see just how bad the Big Baddie will be, I’ll leave you with an excerpt instead.

Fitz?

Kaia, thank the gods! The relief in his voice helped to calm her. You scared the hell out of me when you took off like that. Where are you?

Can you come to Father’s office?

Absolutely. On my way.

Be careful when you come. I tripped over something on my way here.

When he didn’t reply, Kaia knew he was already on the move. She pulled her legs up, wrapping her arms around them and resting her chin on her knee. As she waited for Fitz, she closed her eyes and tried to bring up an image of the last time she’d visited her father here. She frowned when it wouldn’t come to her, and she concentrated harder.

He searches for you.

Kaia’s head snapped up and looked around for the source of the unfamiliar female voice. Fitz had not yet arrived, so she was still alone in the library, which meant someone was talking to her telepathically. Apparently, she was getting the hang of her new ability more quickly than she’d anticipated.

Very curious.

Reaching out, she located and followed the glowing thread that would connect her to the stranger’s mind, something she could do now unconsciously with Fitz. Unlike the steady gray strand hovering on the outer edges of her mind that she know understood was the bridge she used to connect with him, this dark blue one pulsed very slowly as if it were dying. Who are you?

That is not important. He who searches for you is all that is important.

He who? Is this ‘he’ the one who killed my family and my friends tonight?

After a pause and a strong pulse of the thread, the other replied. Yes.

Why would he do this?

Because he believes you are the one.

The one what?

The one of the prophecy.

Prophecy? What prophecy, and what does it have to do with me?

It is the prophecy, and you are its key. Thus, he searches for you to destroy you.

A chill ran down Kaia’s spine as the woman’s words settled into her head. Hearing boots scrambling on the staircase behind her, she nearly lost the connection when its pulse began to fade. Wait! Who is he, and who are you?

Find the lightning witch, the voice instructed, and Kaia could barely the thread connecting them. She will guide you to what you seek.

Wait! I still don’t understand! Kaia tried to reconnect but the other mind was gone.

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!