NaNo 2013 ~ Day 19

FitzWilliam Ballantyne
FitzWilliam Ballantyne

Although today is Tuesday, for the majority of the day I’ve thought it was Wednesday. An appointment I usually have this afternoon got moved temporarily to yesterday, thus I’ve been a day off and out of sorts for hours. Fortunately, this annoying phenomenon doesn’t seem to have affected my word count as I successfully added more than the recommended daily 1,667 words to my story. Okay, yes, I am about 500 words shy of my personal daily goal, but I’m giving myself a break. I’m almost a full day’s worth of words ahead, and even if I don’t put fingertips to a keyboard tomorrow I can easily make up the anticipated gap.

Such are the benefits of taking vacation over Thanksgiving week during the month in which NaNoWriMo is in progress.

I’m happy with what I wrote tonight, and I even managed to sneak in an actual physical description of my MMC (that’s male main character for those of you not in the know). That’s him in the photo, and no, you’re not seeing things if you think you recognize him. Fitz is based on Josh Dallas, the actor who plays Charming on the ABC show Once Upon a Time. I like how he portrays the character, he’s got a fabulous voice, and I wanted just that kind of guy for my scoundrel-turned-hero.

Oh, come now. How many of you can honestly say you haven’t used someone famous as a basis for a character? Uh huh, that’s what I thought.

So I shall now bid you all a fond farewell, and if you don’t see me around tomorrow, never fear. I’ll be back on Thursday, and with gusto.  This is my year, folks. I am going to get that halo, even if I have to stay up until the wee hours of the morning next week to make it happen.

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!