NaNo 2013 ~ Day 17

screamingwomanToday was quite a day. It started with a wonderful lunch with M — it’s her birthday, and her boys let her out to play with me for a while — where I surprised her with a card and a gift and we shared some laughs and good sandwiches. After that, we headed over to the library for our usual Sunday writing session.

Things were going along swimmingly. I was writing like crazy, cranking out the words and moving the story along. Then, around 3:30 or so, disaster struck.

I have one of those laptops that has that touch pad thing right underneath the keyboard. Normally I bypass it by plugging in my mouse, but not today. I’m not exactly sure what happened, but suddenly I was missing almost a thousand words of what I’d written in Scrivener and the handy Undo and Paste options didn’t recover it.

Enter panic mode, and yes, I did a bit of silent screaming.

It’s not the first time something wacky happened in this new application called Scrivener. The first time was during NaNo prep, so while it was an issue, it was just character stuff and I recreated it from memory for the most part. Today, though, it was much much worse. There was no way I could remember everything I’d done, and I was freaking out, big time.

I don’t know what made me think of it, but I opened up my Dropbox folder that syncs up with Scrivener and started poking around in the Files/Docs folder. Much to my immense relief, I found a file named 115.rtf created about the same time I’d saved my work. A quick double click later and I was dancing in my chair. I’d found the words that had disappeared and was able to paste them back into my document and breathe a sigh of relief.

After a few minutes of laughing over the whole thing and a few handfuls of milk chocolate covered raisins, I soldiered on and not only reached today’s minimum word count but I also reached my preferred word count of over 2,400 words and turned my deficit of words into a surplus.

Goes to show you that a little bit of luck during NaNoWriMo goes a long, long way.

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!