NaNo 2013 ~ Day 16

WriterSnoopy

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I don’t know if you noticed, but I rocked the word count today. Because of that one simple goal being accomplished, I am less than 300 words behind the suggested word count that will get me to 50,000 on November 30. That may not seem like a big thing, but to me, it’s quite simply amazing. I’d done the math after having missed writing on those few days last week, and while an extra 750 words or so a day didn’t seem that daunting, there is still that teeny smidgen of doubt no matter what your BFF, anchor and fellow writer keeps telling you.
I think I’m starting to believe I might just succeed at this little challenge I’ve taken on.

Don’t get me wrong, though. I may reach the Big Goal and win NaNoWriMo for the first time EVER, but I’m pretty sure I won’t actually finish the story. I seem to have the opposite problem of my friends who have their books written in 25,000 words and have to come up with logical filler to make their own goals. I have no problem whatsoever spitting out the words. Are they good? Eh, who knows, that’s not the point right now. Heck, I’m even staying away from extraneous descriptions that don’t matter to the characters. The scene I wrote tonight actually has quite a bit of description, but that’s because I was relaying what my male MC Fitz was seeing as he searched his home in the aftermath of an attack. (Yes, the hyena massacre I’ve been foretelling happened yesterday, and now we are in discovery and clean up mode.)

First things first, however. Once I make it through November and get my most excellent halo and winner’s tee, that’s when I’ll start figuring out which of the two things I’ve got going on will be the first to be finished. Bets, anyone?

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!