NaNo 2013 ~ Day 11 Excerpt

It wasn’t until I’d gone to bed last night that I realized I’d neglected to include an excerpt of the latest happenings of my characters as intended. Blame it on five hours sitting in one spot cranking out the word count, or residual sleepiness from the day, or plain and simple forgetfulness. Whichever way, it was probably a good thing, because this way yesterday’s post wasn’t overly long and this first one of today will focus on the good stuff – the story!

What follows is the end of Scene 6, just after Kaia’s been sent a telepathic vision that knocks her out cold, and leads into — dun-dun-DUN — the inciting incident for our lovely protagonist in Chapter 2. The photo that inspired my antagonist’s lair was posted to the Facebook NaNoWriMo page by fellow Wrimo KB on Nov 5, so thanks again to her for that wonderful addition to my tale. Enjoy!

— EXCERPT FROM “Shifter Days”

Alaric's cathedral
Alaric’s cathedral

…“It’s a big jumble of vague images,” she began, “and what I think is a… cathedral submerged under water?” She squinted as if she could focus the vision with her own eyes. “Yes, that’s what it is. Have you ever heard of such a thing?”

“No, but I bet my grandfather would know how to find it. Anything else?”

She closed her eyes and tilted her head. “A man, maybe? I think he’s a shifter because he’s got that aura about him that we all get just before the transformation. I can’t tell what species, though, darn it, because he never fully shifts.” Suddenly, she blanched. “By the gods,” she breathed.

“Kaia, what is it? What’s wrong?”

“The man in the vision? He’s absolutely evil.” She shuddered.

He gathered her close, and she settled into it. “How do you know?”

“That cathedral I saw? It has a room covered in blood, and piles of bones and fur and gods know what else. Fitz, I think it was a torture chamber.”

“Someone we should strive to avoid, then. Is there anything else you can tell me about him so we can make sure to steer clear of him?”

“Only impressions, nothing specific. Wait, there’s someone else. A woman this time, a powerful one and she too is a shifter.”

“Can you see her face?”

“I don’t need to. She’s a lightning witch.”

“Seriously? There hasn’t been one of those in a century.”

“That’s the one thing I can see clearly. A slender blonde woman calling down lightning from the sky, and unlike the man, I don’t get a sense of anything but determination.” She waited a moment more. “I think that’s it.”

“Hm, I wonder what it all means.”

“I don’t know,” Kaia admitted. “I just hope we have time to figure it out. There was an overarching sense of urgency to the whole thing.”

“Well, I guess we should share all this with your family. They did come running when you collapsed.”

She buried her head in his shoulder. “I am so embarrassed!”

“It wasn’t your fault, and they’ll understand that. I thought you were kind of cute.”

Groaning, she poked him and he responded by distracting her with a kiss. Laughing, she hopped off his lap and held out a hand for his. Pulling him out of the chair, she paused when they reached the door.

“Fitz, do you want to tell the family about us?”

“Honestly, no, I don’t. I want you to myself for as long as possible. If that makes me a selfish bastard, so be it.”

Kaia smiled. “I can work with that.” Standing on her tiptoes, she touched her lips to his, teasing him outrageously when he tried to deepen the kiss. His frustrated growl had an odd echo, but neither paid it any attention. “Now, let’s go fill in the others.”

She opened the door, and had to hold onto its frame as a last remnant of the vision caught her by surprise. Dread coursed through her, and she held onto Fitz even tighter as she paled. “Oh no. No, no, no. Oh, Fitz. Something awful is going to happen! I have absolutely no idea what it is or when it will get here, but if what I’m feeling is any indication, it’s going to be horrific.”

“Then we’d better go talk to the others,” Fitz suggested, slipping an arm around her waist both to keep her steady and because he could. “Without a time table or any idea of what’s coming, we need to be on alert as soon as possible.”

“You have no idea,” she murmured under her breath…

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!