NaNo 2013 ~ Day Three

Well, today was interesting. It was the first official NaNo-related write-in M and I had at her library, and because it wasn’t an officially sponsored NaNo write in, we were back at our usual table in the corner surrounded by kids playing chess, tutors teaching some sort of math, guys discussing their fantasy football picks and a random person making use of the vending machines. Having our official NaNoWriMo “Noveling Power-Up” mugs helped us consume our caffeine, and so did the leftover Halloween candy she snagged from the stash she had at home.

As far as the writing itself went, well… it sure didn’t start out on a high note. I think I created four different openings for today’s scene, and none of them worked worth a hoot. I didn’t really want to start it with dialog (I have a tendency to do that every time so I was trying to avoid it), but the descriptive scenes just kept stalling out. The first one seemed forced and the second was just bad, and I don’t even remember the third or forth. When I finally said, “Oh, just start it with dialog so you can actually get something written today,” I managed to get out of my head and out of my own way.

Because I let myself do what I wanted and didn’t worry about pesky things like structure and repetition that aren’t important right now anyway, I managed to do what the whole day was about in the first place: reaching my targeted daily word count.

The best part? Every day I’ve not only met the target number, but surpassed it. Cool, huh?

In order to help me keep this lovely momentum going — especially when I’m off on that vacation/business trip and doing things like sight-seeing and maybe even watching the Avalanche play — I’ve adopted a mantra or slogan or whatever one calls it. It’s been added to the lock screen on my phone, and it should keep me grounded. I found it on my “Write or Else” board on Pinterest (check it out here if you too need inspiration of a similar sort). What do you think?

Don't think, just write

Now, any time I get in my own way, all I have to do is click the button on my phone and I’ll be reminded to “just write.” Not bad advice.

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!