It’s NaNoWriMo Eve

For the majority of the world, today is all about costumes and candy and other things that go bump in the night. I myself have been known to occasionally suit up for Halloween — the year I lost 75 pounds I rocked a Supergirl costume and came in third at the office contest behind the guy in the silver cardboard Iron Man Mark I suit with LED chest plate and the guy dressed as the Will Farrell character from the movie Semi Pro. Most of the time though, on October 31 I’m doing one of two things: a) watching a horror movie marathon and b) waiting until NaNoWriMo officially starts.

So far, I’ve not stayed up to watch the clock tick down the minutes until midnight on November 1 so I can dash into my office, turn on my laptop and begin writing. Now I have on too many occasions stayed up way past my bedtime caught up in a good book, good movie or a television series marathon.  Yet I’ve never considered burning the midnight oil in order to get a jump start on NaNo, even when it started on a weekend. Is this because the time of day when I am most in the mood to write also coincides with my work hours and I am thereby temporary thwarted until the end of the work day to begin?

If I figure it out, you’ll be the second to know.

I’ve also attended a few of the NaNo write-ins hosted by local libraries, and those have been successful, much more so than anything at a restaurant or coffee shop. I met my best friend M at CPL two years ago, even though back then she was usually arriving when I was leaving and we never truly got to write together. At another when it was just me and our area’s ML (Municipal Liaison for those of you not in the know) in attendance, he helped me fix a plot issue that made way more sense than my original outline by posing amazingly simple questions and writing on the room’s enormous white board. So I was looking forward to sitting in a large room with my mascot Snoopy, my caffeinated beverage and others like me, the clicking of our keyboards and the hum of the coffee pot in the corner the only sounds.

Alas, this year M and I must make our own write-ins due to scheduling conflicts and distance issues, and that works just fine for me. I’ve always looked forward to our Sunday afternoon writing sessions at CPL for their creative and social aspects, and I’m so glad her hubby R is supportive and lets her out to meet me. I’m sure the extra DVDs that I give to her to give to him because I’ve replaced hem on Blu-ray has absolutely nothing to do with his decision, but I donate to the cause anyway. *grin*

I like to think we help each other creatively in many ways, and even though our choice of genres are very dissimilar, our writing energy is great even if she often writes a heck of a lot faster than I do. In my defense, on that particular day it was her quick dialog versus my longer narrative paragraphs, but hey it’s not a competition.

Oh, wait! It is, technically.  Fortunately, it’s us and our word counts against the world and not us against each other. Well, okay, maybe a little. She’s won NaNo once and I have yet to, so there’s added incentive for me to hit that 50k mark. To that end, I have a brand-new tale to tell this year, and I’m hoping with all my being that all that plot prep we did means I won’t get stuck halfway through November wondering what happens next.

So, between now and November 30, I’m going to do as the sign says. I’ll keep you posted!

kc50k

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

2 thoughts on “It’s NaNoWriMo Eve”

  1. That’s so cool that you meet someone at the write-ins. I’m going to be doing NaNoWriMo also. Here’s to 30 days of sleep-deprivation.

Comments are closed.