Letter from Camp: Day 1 Report

Hi everyone! Nikki here, direct from her rustic cabin at Camp NaNoWriMo! I have just finished my first day’s writing, and I’m glad I decided against time in the pool with the other kiddies in order to get a good start on writing. With little effort I was able to pick up where I’d left off, introduced two new characters–the fiancée of the MC’s brother and her two-year-old daughter who didn’t do so well on the plane trip from Dallas to Los Angeles–exceeded the recommended minimum word count for the day, and completed an entire scene.

Hot diggety. *happy dance redux*

I can tell you it felt pretty good to just have the words flow with no hitches, stumbles or train wrecks. I knew where I was going and I got there, and I know what happens next. (I even left myself a little note in case I need a nudge tomorrow when I return to the story.) In fact, that next scene is a pivotal one, leading directly into The Confrontation, a scene I’ve been dreading for months now. It started out one way, and three days hence in the story timeline, and I think I know how it’s going to come together.

Of course, stories have a way of going they way they want to, no matter how hard you might try to steer them in one direction. So it’ll be interesting to see if the characters follow my lead or if they veer off to No Man’s Land instead.

Considering the story is currently taking place in a Disneyworld resort hotel, anything’s possible. ;)

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!