Countdown to Camp

I know it may be hard to believe, but I never went to summer camp as a kid. Well, okay, so there was vacation bible school for church every summer back home in Minnesota (and that was pretty cool because we had acres upon acres to play on and the seniors always got the choicest campsite, the huge tree house), but I’m talking camp like band/theatre/sports kind of camp. Although, I bet even if I had gone, I’d still both dreading and looking forward to Camp NaNoWriMo starting next Friday, June 1st.

Why dreading? Well, I’m worried I’ll ring the bell about a week in like I did earlier this year in February when a local group of us on Facebook attempted “29k in 29 Days” and my concentration and dedication to the project fizzled pretty quickly, or when I did the same last November for actual WriMo when I pretty much just quit for no reason. Oh, and there’s also the big climax of the book that is coming up where secrets are revealed and the hero/heroine have to deal with them and each other. Not to mention I’m not sure the original plan is going to work anymore based on where the story’s gone so I don’t want to get stuck in What-Am-I-Going-To-Do-Now-Land instead of Writing-Like-A-Fiend-Land. Not to mention the whole OMG-I-Might-Finally-Finish-This-Thing chant that’s been rumbling around in my head for a while now and keeps me a little skeered.

The looking forward to part is obvious; if I can keep the inspiration and determination and all those other -ations going, the OMG-I-Might-Finally-Finish-This-Thing chant above can become the OMG-I-Actually-Finished-It! chant (but with a zillion more exclamation points), which is quite possibly the most exciting thing ever. Not to mention a few people would be extremely happy to celebrate that milestone with me (they know who they are and I love them all). There’s also the fact that Camp NaNo Part II starts up in August so I could conceivably begin my next book a month after finishing the first draft on my first.

What a concept.

Still, wouldn’t it be something if I finally met a goal that really meant something to me, to know that yes I am actually capable of writing an entire novel, no matter how long it takes?

Yeah, it would.

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!