A February Challenge ~ 29K in 29 Days

On Sunday, one of my new NaNoWriMo buddies from this past November proposed an interesting idea to me, “a DIY Novel Writing Month in February, a lite version. 29 days, 29,000 words.” (See the link at the end of the post to check out our progress.) It’s pretty much a local Austin thing for the moment, and there’s only a handful of us, but that’s not really the point.

Writing. That’s the point. Most definitely.

Considering it’s on my 12 in 12 resolutions list to finish my novel by the end of the year (again), it seemed rather lame to not step up to the keyboard and take up Meagan’s gauntlet. With only a couple day’s notice, I did have a moment of panic when I saw her message ~ OMG you want to start when?!? ~ but then I reminded myself it’s not like I had to start from scratch. All I had to do was read back from where I’d left off, and move forward.

Turns out, that positive adjustment in thinking was just what I needed. Yay me!

Last night after finishing up work, I opened the document for my current chapter and whaddya know, I actually had 16 pages written from my last NaNoWriMo effort. Scrolling back, those pages constituted two chapters, although the second was pretty short. Now came the hard part: reading what I’d written and trying to remember in which direction I was taking the story. I knew what happens in the chapter-to-be thanks to my outline and a few words of wisdom from my 2011 NaNo ML. Fortunately, I figured it out in just a few minutes, and got to writing. By the end of my session, I’d hit my daily word count goal, I’d added more pages and I knew where to go to end the chapter.

This is going to be the tough section of the book, though. At least, that’s what I’ve been telling myself when I wonder why I’m not writing. I don’t particularly like conflict. In fact, I go out of my way to avoid change if at all possible, and conflict is just another flavor of change. The fact that conflict is actually quite interesting to read about is moot.

Still, I figure I’m about two-thirds of the way to “The End,” and the happy bubble is definitely about to burst wide open for my MCs. We’re talking misunderstandings, surprise appearances by secondary characters, and at least one big secret revealed about my leading man that may threaten to destroy everything he’s built to date with my leading lady. I can avoid it for another couple of pages, but at end of this chapter, the fit is most assuredly going to hit the shan, y’all.

So come on over and check in on the DiNoWriMo 29,000 Words in 29 Days challenge. You can find us on Facebook here ~ we welcome all encouragement! ~ and I’ll be back with more updates throughout February. Write on!

Today’s word count: 1,072
Challenge goal: 29,000
WIP word count to date: 183,498

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!