12in12 ~ A Resolutions Post

As it happens quite often, friends inspire me. Sometimes it’s a big thing, sometimes it’s an itty bitty one. Thursday, it was about resolutions. Now, not that long ago, I revisited my 2011 goals to see how I did. It was a nice trip down memory lane, and it was also good to see the year in review. Then along came a post from my writer gal-pal MG who listed her “12 in 12” of things she wanted to accomplish. Additionally, she said she wanted to see our lists, too. I hadn’t really intended to create an actual list, although I do have a couple of things that could be deemed “resolutions,” but as I love to write things down and make lists, I decided why the heck not.

It is a new year, and perhaps it’s time for me to update my list with new things.

Now, these “things,” whatever they are, don’t have to be big. I think often the smaller ones are easier to accomplish and give us a greater sense of “Yeah, I did it!” Case in point: when I was losing weight, it was the non-scale-related goals that helped me stay with the program and after each one was reached, I was able to look forward to the next. That definitely keeps me moving forward instead of getting stuck on Why Bother Lane or stalled out halfway down Crash and Burn Boulevard.

I don’t know about you, but I much prefer cruising down Hey I Did It Highway. So, time to start my engines. (I just love car metaphors now that I drive a Bullitt Mustang… Hee.)

Nikki’s 12in12

  1. Keep a “Book of Days” where I take stock of me, and more importantly, track my moods (aka my depression). This is already started; take a look at how I’ve decked out the covers of my journal.
  2. Finish any one of the projects I’ve already started, be it jewelry or scrapbooking or cross stitch or perhaps that puzzle covering my dining room table…
  3. Cook more.  This too is already started; see my brand-new food blog for more.
  4. Pay off my credit card debt by December, even if that means I buy fewer movies and books this year.
  5. Pick a song for this year’s Extravaganza, and then rehearse the heck out of it so I sound awesome.
  6. Play my flute, a capella or with my fellow flautist JKF.
  7. Take a dance lesson.
  8. Attend a Texas Stars hockey game.
  9. Volunteer more at church. This is another that’s begun; guess who’s a new weddings liaison/assistant? :)
  10. “Have more fun in social settings without letting my social anxiety get the best of me.” Stole this one from MG because I do this too, and it’s important.
  11. Clean one, just one, room in my house.
  12. Last but most definitely NOT least: Finish My Novel.

Whew. That’s a big list, four more than last year and these are more cross ’em off when done than continuous to-do’s. What’s nifty is that I’ve started some of them already, so I’m definitely on the right track.

Well, friends, what’s on your list?

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

3 thoughts on “12in12 ~ A Resolutions Post”

Comments are closed.