It’s Almost NaNoWriMo Time

As you can see by the pretty new badge on the right that replaced the PostADay2011 one (a project that crashed after the first few days, and I’ll admit I’m not all that surprised), the annual competition of writing insanity called National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is on the horizon. I’ve had mixed success with this project since I officially signed up and started tracking my progress in 2008, so let’s summarize the whole project to date:

  • November 2006 ~ I started writing “The Great Boyfriend Experiment,” inspired by my vacation to Montana. I wrote consistently month to month through October 2007 with only a couple of months where I didn’t write at all. I can’t recall why I stopped just before NaNo 2007, but I bet it was work/school related.
  • March 2008 ~ I picked the story back up again, writing consistently through July 2008. Milestone: hitting the 300 pages mark for the first time on any manuscript, ever!
  • November 2008 ~ I signed up for my very first NaNoWriMo and proceeded with my own version to work on my current instead of a new project called Nik’s NaNoWriMo Experiment (NNE). I wrote every day for 30 days straight, keeping track of daily and total word counts and blogging about it to let you how it went. Milestone: Successfully completed NNE!
  • November 2009 ~ after a year away from the manuscript, I had grand plans to repeat the previous year’s effort. I started out like gangbusters but then fizzled after ten days having written barely 30 pages. Not the greatest showing.
  • September 2010 ~ despite the year to date having been one of the most emotionally up-and-down times in my life, I managed to reconnect with the book only to hit that same brick wall that had stopped me back in 2009; the new chapter just wasn’t working and I couldn’t figure out why. Milestone: I figured out the way through the brick wall (it was a character thing) and hit the 400 pages mark at the same time.
  • November 2010 ~ although September was productive, things went downhill from there again and I just didn’t have the motivation.

It’s now 2011, and every once in a while I open up my manuscript and read the last chapter before the one I’m working on to refresh myself with where all my characters are. I’m still interested in them and their stories, which is a good thing. Yet it’s that whole pesky motivation thing (along with a couple other things I can’t mention in this venue) that keeps me from powering up the laptop and letting my fingers fly across the keyboard and finally getting to that last page where I can write “The End.” So I am determined to take another run at NaNoWriMo for 2011. You’ll know it’s started when you see the badge change to include “participant” on November 1. Here we go again!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!