Devil’s in the Details

Boo! Did I surprise you? No? Well, darn. I’ll go ahead and say, “Hi!” to you all anyway. (*waves*)

It’s been over half a year since I’ve posted anything here, although I haven’t been idle that whole time. There’s been two choir performances, a psychology class at the community college (I pulled out an A, go me!), and my day job as an IT Girl Friday (don’t ask me to explain what that is, most of the time I don’t know either). I’ve also seen a bunch of movies out in a real theatre and at home on my Blu-ray player, not to mention working on a couple craft projects at the same time.

As for the writing, I’ve sort of been stuck in Details Mode. What is that, exactly? It’s a great way to procrastinate when one doesn’t quite know what to do on her current Work In Progress. You dig out all the background information you’ve gathered on another series–one that’s set in a fictional city is a great candidate–then you proceed to do the following: pull out the map of said fictional city, decide it’s too small and rectangular (imagine three 8.5 x 11 pages in landscape orientation lying side by side for a 1×3 grid) and proceed to explode your city into a 4×4 grid. Then, one goes a little crazy adding streets, railroad tracks, business/residential/medical/industrial districts, a community college and a university, an airport and multiple parks to this map.

Once it’s mostly redone (all info from the old map have been placed in their new locations but nothing else new added quite yet), you realize you’ve written some of the stories that are set in said city and you need to make sure the references now match the new and improved map. So, you now pull out all those partial manuscripts (none of which surpass 80 pages) and read through to update the new cross streets, names and all other details you can find, and occasionally re-writing a really bad piece. Voilá, you’ve been bogged down in the Details!

On the upside of all this detailing, I rediscovered a series I’ve always loved (it features the eight sons of twin sisters, thus The Cousins) and how much fun it is to be creative. Now, I just need to get my groove back for that novel that’s sooo close to being complete, and maybe I can do something about making The Cousins’ stories completed novels, too!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!