W.O.W. – An Introduction

According to my handy desk copy of the 2001 Random House Webster’s dictionary, there are two entries for the word “wow.” The second of the definitions relates to sound recordings, which doesn’t apply to today’s topic, so let’s take a look at the first: –n. 3. an extraordinary success. 4. excitement, interest, great pleasure, or the like. Now, these are excellent definitions, and definitely prove that I’ve chosen the correct acronym for my new little endeavor.

Now, any of you writers out there in the Twitter-verse (and perhaps even the casual tweeter) may notice that on Wednesdays a trending topic of #WW appears. Well, that little acronym stands for Writer Wednesday, and all the writers out there recommend to their followers other writers they find interesting to follow. I myself am blessed to have a few fans and get added to the WW list now and again. (Thank you to those who keep me in the loop – I’m honored and flattered you find me so interesting!) Most of my writing lately has consisted of replies to Plinky’s nifty little prompts (to find out more, go to their site www.plinky.com as they explain it better than I could). It’s a neat tool for getting back into thinking like a writer and getting the flow going, but it still doesn’t get me any closer to my goal of finishing that pesky thing called My Novel. (I do have in reserve some of the larger topics that haven’t yet answered, so keep an eye out for those.)

I’ve also had a rather rough summer, so the last thing on my mind was doing anything productive. I fell into the trap of getting up, going through the motions at work, getting home from work as fast as possible and then crashing on the couch to do absolutely nothing. I couldn’t sleep either because my brain wouldn’t shut off so I was exhausted as well. Okay, sure, I occasionally turned on my spiffy, speedy new laptop to check email, but with the purchase of my new smart phone even that wasn’t necessary anymore. (I have yet to sync the thing so pray nothing goes wrong with it.) All of this led to a mild depression, and I knew I needed to get myself out of it or things would only get worse.

So, I resolved a few things that had been stressing me out and started making a plan. The first was figuring out what do I want to do with my life after I hit 20 years at my company, but that’s a long tale for another time. The second was to feel better about life in general, so I got a much-needed haircut (goodbye year-old straggly and split-endy perm and hello healthy, pretty, dark brown straight hair), started wearing jewelry again (I’ve got my good-luck Symbols of Ireland ring back on my right hand) and I even painted my nails the same hunter green as my Bullitt Mustang (which also goes well with the Ireland ring). The only thing left was an answer to the question, “Now what do I do about writing?”

This is where the W.O.W. comes in. It stands for Writing On Wednesdays, and it’s my new, ease into the habit of writing plan. From past experience, I know that I won’t do much writing when I get home (as I’ve mentioned above), so I needed a plan that gets me productive. Fortunately, there are so many places nowadays that have food and free wifi (and those without food, too) that it makes it easy on a writer to grab her laptop (which is hiding under my desk as I type this), pick a spot and after a bite to eat, turn on the laptop and get back to work. Of course, I can always write more if I feel like it (and the hope is that’s what will happen) but it’s a good way to get me back into the groove without a) working on my novel at work, which is not the best idea considering that’s not what they pay me for; or b) giving myself a super-specific goal like x number of words/pages/chapters that I feel frustrated before I’ve begun. Besides, that’s what NaNoWriMo is for, and this will definitely get me in shape for that little project.

So wish me luck, and I’ll keep you posted (ha) on what’s happening, either here or over on Twitter. Happy writing to me, and to all my fellow writers out there. Viva la writing!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!