Ready… Set… Almost A Go

Well, it’s been almost two months and I think I’ve finally procrastinated as much as I can with “getting organized” before writing again. I find this quite funny. Why, you ask? Because I was already extremely organized before, having put things like photos (in their handy photo pages of course), clippings, research materials and more into a three ring binder (or filed into a filing cabinet in neatly labeled file folders) that sits at the ready when needed. For some reason, I felt it was necessary to not only have the current story’s fictional character profiles in a new format–and in a new binder–but also the family trees, the house blueprints and the story calendar & outline in this same format as well. Not to mention also including all the other character profiles and outline I have for my other to-be-written novels in the same notebook. I should probably look into why having them all there in hard copy format makes me feel better, when this very same information is always on my person in electronic format on my handy little USB flash drive attached to my key chain so that I can refer to it or access it whenever I want.

In fact, I know quite a few people would be asking me to look into why I am resisting writing–no, finishing–this current project instead. I can come up with reason (excuse) after reason (excuse), and all of them can be mitigated so easily. It is so obvious that I have the time to write, I’m just not doing it. I also have a ton of people rooting for me to finish the thing, too–my mom, my aunt, my friends, my guy, even complete strangers I’ve met at a happy hour tell me I need to finish the book so they can read it. Even years later I’m still excited to talk about it, so why can’t I be as excited to write it? The concept’s really quite a simple one. Even as I write this, I know that if I bargained with myself for an hour here or there, the words would just start to flow and I’d have tons of pages written and more than an hour would be gone and I’d be that much closer to completing the last third of the book.

When talking to Mom earlier today I made a random comment that really stuck with me: It really feels like I want writing to be my day job, because when I’m most ready and interested about working on the project, it’s when I’m at my current day job. Thing is, in order to make that dream a reality, I’ll probably need to finish my book first so that I can do all those nifty things like finding an agent who will find me a publisher and all that other good stuff that leads toward making writing my profession. Guess it’s time to get typing!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!