What’s Your Motivation?

Hi, everyone! How’s your 2010 so far?

Well, November was a big fat bust as far as writing was concerned. I didn’t hit any of the goals I’d set for myself, I didn’t finish diddly and so far 2010 isn’t much better. Unless of course you count finally updating my Twitter background so that it didn’t reference NaNoWriMo anymore (and I kind of like the green color, too). Heck, I’ve even chosen the new theme here on WordPress to color coordinate; it used to be Longhorn Orange, but I just now decided that the least I could do was match things up a bit. It’s also kind of depressing to realize that so far I’ve spent three and a half years on my current project, and most of the writing that was done happened back in 2006 when I was first working on it.

What I find is that I can’t (or won’t, I’m not entirely sure which it is at the moment) find the motivation to write a single word unless somehow badgered or cajoled or just plain guilted into it. On the one hand, these sound like negative things. Yet on the other, if these things get me writing, or at least thinking about this WIP of mine, isn’t that a good thing? You’ve hit me on a day when I think, yes, these are good things. I also have plenty of people ready and frequently supporting this little project of mine, which again is a good thing.

Like today for example: Auntie posted a note on my Facebook wall informing me that she’d be more interested in what I was doing rather than the fact I was happy it was Friday. If you look, writing is no where on that list. But you know what happened about an hour later? I had my flash drive plugged in, the file open and I was looking at the chapters, trying to figure out when last we visited a certain character. See, I’ve been thinking about this for a while. Why is Chapter 35 not starting out great, why is it just not flowing like the others had? Could it be that Chelsea’s been poking at me, telling me how we haven’t heard from her in a while and perhaps we should before she…well, before she does what she’s going to do later on in the book that I can’t tell you about or I’d ruin the ending. So here I sit, perusing the last time we saw her (Chapter 30 by the way, almost 60 pages ago!) and thinking, Yep I was right, we need to check back in with our Twentysomething Troublemaker. So you never know, you may just see more ramblings by me this summer (it is April after all, and already 90 degrees outside!) because I’ve gotten back on the writing wagon. Wish me luck!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

One thought on “What’s Your Motivation?”

  1. Eagerly waiting for your current novel to be finished so you can take Sam and Beth on an adventure to Ireland in the next book! Your writing and storytelling are SO good I want to read more and waiting . . . waiting . . . waiting . . . tries my patience (as you well know). You go girl!
    Lotsa love,
    AV

Comments are closed.