NaNoWriMo 6 – Over 8,400 Words and Counting

Well, I wasn’t sure how things would go tonight. I knew I had the time, I knew I wanted to write, but other than that I hadn’t really set any goals for the evening. I have discovered one thing: I can no longer have a DVD or the television playing in the background and be productive. This saddens me, for I have a huge collection to choose from regarding movies and television seasons on DVD and I really enjoy them. But I guess in my “old age” of not quite 40, it’s become too distracting. Eighties music on the other hand appears to be just the thing to write by.

I also have to shut down things like TweetDeck so that the fun little things my friends in the Twitterverse don’t tempt me to respond to them. Today being Friday, I had to choose between work or StoryFriday, and work won. Although one of my lovely Tweeps did keep my spirit in the story by introducing a sword for me. (I don’t know what it is, but I have a thing for swords these days. Broadswords of the Red Sonja variety, sleek kitanas like my favorite Immortals the MacLeods wield, the dual sabres that Xena carries, all of them. I’m sure my therapist would have a field day with that imagery.) Also shut down was Facebook – I already spend way too much time there, and that was before I discovered Castle Age and the dragons I could slay. Hmm. May explain the sword fascination! LOL

In any case, today was a good day. Six full pages written, 2376 words added, another scene created. Stay tuned to see how the very first meeting of our couple and her entire family goes!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!