NaNoWriMo 6 – Playing Catch-Up

Hi guys.

If you’re a regular, you’ll probably note the new widget on the right hand side that will handily track my progress in the Word Count arena that I log into the official site. By the end of Day 6, which is today, WriMos attempting to reach the 50k goal, the number should be a nice, almost even 10,002. Whew! I’ve got my work cut out for me. Thankfully, it’s Friday night and the beginning of the weekend. I should have some big blocks of time where I can focus on what’s happening between Sam and Beth way over there in California and Disneyland. Like tonight, for example. While the rest of you are presumably out on the town, having dinner with friends, drinking with friends, or hosting a party for friends in your living room, here I sit with my trusty laptop Rommie to start creating literary magic.

Hmm. I think I need more friends.

I’m kidding, of course. The ones I have are amazing, and thanks to Twitter, I’m making more and more every day. Granted, I can find myself distracted by catching up with what my other writers are updating instead of doing my own writing. But it is nice to know there are others out there doing the same thing as me, getting sidetracked by things like StoryFriday, or their cats/kids/husbands/insert noun here. Not to mention those who are really inspiring because they’ve already reached the halfway mark on the count, and remind me that yes, indeed, it can be done by people like me.

So what am I doing still writing this blog, you ask? I’m not. You’re just imaging this. I’m really sitting on my couch wreaking havoc on my couple by way of the untimely arrival of Beth’s cute little four-year-old cousin, Russell. Kids!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 6 – Playing Catch-Up”

  1. Oh! You have the word widget! I want one too… Doesn’t every word on the blog seem like a word that could have gone into the 50,000? I’m on 5,713 myself. Slowly but surely I will catch up!

  2. Hi Nadia,
    Click here to find the word count widgets on the official site. There’s many to choose from, and there’s even a couple that will track your count along with a couple of your friends as well. I know we both will catch up and do splendidly all month! ~Nikki

Comments are closed.