NaNoWriMo Day 4 – Not Where I Want To Be

Well, it’s Wednesday, November 4, four days into this little project, and I’m already slacking. On Day 1, as you remember, I wrote like crazy. I almost doubled the minimum word count for the day, even. Then Monday comes along and The Day Job as an IT professional sucks the energy out of me, so much so that I get captured by a stray passage in the latest book by Jacqueline Frank (Pleasure, for those of you who care about such things). Next thing I know, it’s 11:30 PM and not only did I not finish the book, but I didn’t write a word either. At least I slept well despite that, I guess.

Okay, so on Tuesday I had good intentions of writing during lunch. And I did. A whopping 124 words, which is like two measly little paragraphs. Between actually eating the lunch I’d gone out to fetch (remind me that I don’t really like Mickey D’s the next time I consider going there, will ya?), getting sidetracked by battling dragons/vampires/Mafiya and making my farm look pretty on Facebook (thank God the meters refill slowly or I’d never have to quit) and trying to remember where I left Sam and Beth in our story on Sunday, the whole hour had flown by. Heck, this post has more words in it than yesterday’s effort did! I keep trying to work on it like I did last year, but back then things were a lot slower and no one cared if I wrote (that I know of). But alas, no chances. After work was dinner with Mom (we skipped Weight Watchers but shared a really yummy sandwich and had salad) and then choir, so I didn’t get home until 9:00 or so. I debated about writing, but also had that book still beckoning. So, I got into my jammies…and read.

Thus I find myself here on Day 4 falling behind in every way. I’m hoping to make up some ground after 4:30 tonight because a) I’ll be off work and can write here in the office until 7:00 when I need to help test a release and b) there won’t be a television or cats nearby to distract me. If I’m even a little successful, I might be able to get back on track. Even if I don’t make the min 6,668 count for today, if I at least write something I’ll feel better.

Right?

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 4 – Not Where I Want To Be”

  1. Don’t feel bad. I have had a similar start as you. Day 1 I wrote 2700 words or so. Day 2 I didn’t write anything because I teach Comp I and II at a local college on Monday nights and don’t get home until 9PM. Last night, Day 3, I just couldn’t focus and only wrote 811 words. Tonight, I’d love to say that i have big plans to write, but I teach at the college again tonight so I’m sure I’ll be tired again but, I’ll write it I can.

    What I would love to do is, write SOMETHING everyday and really kick it in gear on days I don’t have to do anything in the evenings. I’m behind in the total word count. To catch up to where I’d need to be on Day 4 I’d have to write 3,158 words tonight. NOT gonna happen!

    But, I’m not going to stress because it will make the whole experience unenjoyable. I’m just going to make up for the slacking at a later date.

    Keep up the good work.
    Karin

  2. Thanks, Karin! It is nice to know I’m not the only one. Makes this big NaNo thing a bit smaller. LOL. Last year I was in your shoes–class, homework, theatre rehearsals and theatre meetings all kept me up until the wee hours if I wanted to write. This year, I start my Thanksgiving vacation on Saturday the 21st so I’m sure I will find a lot of time to make up later on. I’m writing now, as it happens, in between Regular Work Day and Late Testing Session. :) I definitely think it shouldn’t be a stressful endeavor, so the cheerleading helps. :)

    Plentiful writing to you as well!
    Nikki

Comments are closed.