NaNoWriMo Begins! Sort Of…

Hello, my followers and my fellow NaNoWriMo attemptees!

It’s Sunday afternoon and I’m still working on the logistics of getting set up to write. I’ve got the cordless mouse/keyboard ready to go, the flash drive containing my story all plugged in, and the external hard drive that holds all my music finally disconnected. Sounds like I should be ready, right? Well, not so fast. See, I’ve discovered that since getting my new couch–which is nicer and longer than my old couch–I have conveniently covered up the outlet into which I need to plug my laptop. [Insert favorite swear word from your favorite Science Fiction story here.] Not to mention the other outlets are too far away and I’d have to sit on the floor behind the bookcases for things to reach properly. What to do, what to do?

–we now pause in the writing of this post as Nikki attempts to move the sofa to access the outlet with no success, then hunts around for something that might get her out of this mess–

Aha! Crisis averted! I found an old outlet strip that I’d tossed into the Junk Drawer, and after plugging it in, I was able to also plug in Rommie’s power cord (Rommie being my laptop, short for Andromeda Ascendant [yet another story]). Fortunately, there’s enough slack that I have not created any hazardous conditions that may cause me to trip and break my fool neck. So I leave you now for my story. Let’s hope that’s the smallest of the snafus during this project!

I’ll back later to let you know how things went in the world of The Great Boyfriend Experiment. See you then!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!