Wednesday Musings

Well, as of today, I officially have an expanded support crew in place for when I begin writing again, and I have to say, I’m a pretty lucky newbie. In addition to my wonderful aunt, and of course all my supportive friends who’ve been hearing about the book for years now and saying, “Quit talking and finish it already!” there is now a slowly growing group of ladies I’m honored to be conversing with. Before I chat about them a bit, let me pause a moment to jot down some thoughts.

When I first joined Facebook, I knew it would be a great way to keep in touch with my theatre buds, and didn’t expect it to go much beyond that. I’ve since reconnected with who knows how many long-lost friends from both my MN high school and the one here in Austin that’s just a few miles away. It wasn’t until I caught up with Stace, a former co-worker of mine who does online reviews for differing genres of romance novels that things really shifted gears for me. While I was poking around on her friend list–I was looking for her hubby and her son, who I also know well–I discovered many of my favorite authors were on her list. So, I paused, took a deep breath, clicked the appropriate “Add As Friend” buttons, adding quick notes before clicking OK, then sat back pretty much convinced none of them would accept.

Intellectually, I know that famous, published authors are people just like me, with families and pets and drama and angst and headaches. They’re witty, and funny, and quirky, and dedicated. Like me they hate that some days they can only write one lousy paragraph and, like me, they tweet and whoop it up when they write over two thousand words. They too have days when they wake up and don’t want to sit in front of a keyboard when they would much rather be out on the beach reading and relaxing, although they have the discipline to ignore that beachcomber voice and do it anyway, which I. Must. Learn.

Well, I sit here tonight happy to report that they did accept and it’s been great fun getting to know these ladies as more than just a name on a book cover. They inspire me, amuse me, strengthen me, and impress me, usually without even knowing it. So, ladies, here’s the first of many thanks I’m sending your way…

Candy: you are truly amazing with your undertakings. In between the articles, reviews, blogs, college kids and writing novels, you still find time to chat about art history and college papers. I know I will conquer that fear of mine, just as I know you’ll be right there cheering me on as I do. Your passion for everything you do is truly inspiring!

Jess: girl, you are definitely someone who I want with me when the world is ending! It’s been great getting to know the Lady behind the Nightkeepers, and I can’t wait for you to start nagging me to keep writing. ~grin~ I know that spunk of yours will keep me motivated into the wee hours of the night, especially when I’m in the zone. I can’t wait for the day you and I cheer, “it’s done!”

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!