Ready… Set… Write!

Hi, everyone! If you’re reading this, you’ve gotten the e-mail I sent or read the Facebook post about this little experiment of mine. Well, ladies and gentlemen, in just a few short days, it all begins. I have a few ideas on how I’m going to fit in all this writing (thank goodness for my DVR), and all support and/or encouragement will be much appreciated. All in all, I think by the time Nov. 1 rolls around, I’m going to be ready to get typing.

The NaNoWriMo competition (see about this experiment and related link at right) is asking its participants to aim for 50,000 words in 30 days. So far, my book has 314 pages with 128,289 words. I have to say, until this project, the most I’d ever written on a single project was maximum 65 pages. While I’m not 100% sure I can write half again as much in a month as I have in two years, here’s hoping this project will get me that much closer to a finished novel, and my greatest writing milestone to date.

Alright, everyone, I think I’m ready to go. Wish me luck!

Author: Nikki B.

IT Ops Girl Friday by day, wannabe Writer by night who's attempting to finish just one of her many novels. Follow the saga on Wordpress!

2 thoughts on “Ready… Set… Write!”

  1. Cut the excuses, Miss Nikki. I have been patiently waiting, waiting, waiting for the next chapter and am getting impatient. You made the commitment . . . prioritize and go for the goal! By the way, how was the birthday dinner for your mom? Did life imitate art and Eric charm both of your parents?
    Hugs,
    The Real & For True Dottie
    PS “Awaiting moderation?” Petty fancy for “revise it now or just live with it and consequences be . . . (expletive deleted).”

  2. Well, now I’ve discovered “awaiting moderation” isn’t an invite to revise a message. So, my dear friend, I will , hereafter, revise before hitting the “submit comment” button.

    Being of the pre-computer generation, I thoroughly dislike several aspects of this means of communication. First, and foremost, I feel I’m placed in a position of having to seek you out like I’m a “fan” and you’re a “celebrity.” You star, me insignificant other. Not a fun or endearing role. Second, anything I write here is available to be read by lots of others. So, if you’ve been keeping Eric a secret, he’s out there now. No telling what I might let out of the bag next! Let me know if you’d rather I confine my correspondence to direct email.

Comments are closed.